Sidewalk

Sidewalk

Cement. Pavement.

Ground pebbles and sand.

I shove my face up close

to notice textures and colors

not seen from my height.

I feel the surface scraping

ragged grooves into my flesh.


Rough. Rigid.

No pattern to the coarseness;

A barricade of hills

the ants must cross

to get to the grass on the other side.

A rainbow of colors;

brown, green, purple, and gray.

A glittering confetti of hues

forever bound by solidified sand.


Dirty. Dusty.

Do you ever tread this sidewalk, dear friend?

Where would you go,

would you walk alone?

Or perhaps,

with a companion or family?

Would you walk, trudge, or run?


I walk upon the sidewalk

to escape from where I once was.

I walk for some unknown destination.

The sidewalk is my causeway to neverwhere.

How far will it take me?

About brainreader

I'm a full time student and part time worker who has learned that writing is a means of keeping sanity in today's rat race. I'm here to share my two cents (or fifty) and see who bites back :) I'm sure you'll discover other interesting tidbits about me through reading my blog. View all posts by brainreader

4 responses to “Sidewalk

Leave a Reply

